PhilPaso Therapy

Controlled movement, strenth and complex movement patterns

Excellent training for the whole body with adaptive motion control: Self-powered or with the use of an electric motor powertrain.

The PhilPaso Training Maschine was developed by Dr. Klaus and Sabine Berndsen and is based on the patent number 196030315. The patent contains a hinged pedal system for training the rolling movement of the feet for walking and running.

Areas of Application

  • Competitive and hobby sport
  • Rehabilitation after illness, injury and surgery
  • Anatomical malalignment and/or incorrect use of feet, limbs and pelvis
  • Disruptions of balance and/or coordination
  • Congenital and acquired impairments
PhilPaso - Excellent training for young and old

Excellent training for young and old

Characteristics of PhilPaso Trainings

  • Controlled motion for the development of brain-coordinated and automatic whole body movements
  • Gentle flow of motion without jerking or jolting stress of the joints
  • Guided rolling movement for the feet
  • Cross movement training: Legs-arms/shoulders-hips
  • Adaptable to varying leg lengths, knee heigths of supporting leg, inseams, arm lenths and angles and variable positioning allowing for gentle ellipsoidal movements of joints
  • Variable sitting and standing training
  • Swivel seat for easy access and safety belt
  • Self-powered or motored-controlled use
  • Stabile and adaptible device for professional use: One device for large and small

PhilPaso

pb-01-wThe name PhilPaso is a neologism and means the way of Philipp.  Philipp is the son of Klaus and Sabine Berndsen.  He was born with Cerebral Palsy in 1991 and would never (from expert opinions) learn to walk.  The boy took part in countless, extensive and unsuccessful treatments in Germany and other countries over a period of many years.  Instead of resigning to the fate that their son would never be able to walk, Dr. and Mrs. Berndsen began the development of a special training devices to create complex walking motions and patented their mechanisms.  After intensive training with the devices, Philipp was able to take his first independent steps when he was nine years old.  Using their experience as a basis and the patents of their devices, the Berndsen’s gradually created their best training device.  They called it PhilPaso because the device helped their son Philipp learn how to walk.

Meantime countless other patients were able to profit from this method.  Due to the prior high costs of development, it has only now been achieved to create a durable device for professional use which does not need constant technical adjustment.

Special qualities of PhilPaso training

PhilPaso Training enhances the guide of motion of the lower extremities through coordinated and interactive upper body movement: Pelvis, shoulders, arms, hands, and head.  Through repetitive simultaneously guided and coordinated motions, optimized habitual motion patterns can be trained.

Neurophysiological Basis

Dr. Berndsen/Berndsen define their trainings methods, which are important for the principles of brain-coordinated body functioning (neurophysiological principles):

  • The brain does not know single muscles.  However, it directs complex movement patterns.  These can be acquired or acquired again if the training (therapy) considers the extensive interactive complexity of movement: Movement coordination from head to foot (i.e. walking).
  • Isolated exercises of partial movement disturb the creation of a neurophysiological movement pattern and lead to secondary damages/impairments (lesions).
  • Movements are to be controlled, so that they are guided closely as possible to the correct movement pattern. (Controlled Movement): Wrong movements and overload are not allowed to occur.
  • Neurophysiological movement patterns develop through the precision of the implementation of identical highly repetitive exercises.  Manually, this is not possible and requires the use of specialized training equipement: PhilPaso
    Lesions require compensation of movement.  They must be cancelled quickly as possible (depending on the regeneration process).
  • Necessity of a developmently-oriented Training: If highly developed cortical functions have been formed and a complex neurophysiological pattern can be realized, exercises for the rehabilitation of preliminary development should stop.  The exercises would disturb the coordination pattern and cause movement disorders.
  • Orientation of neurophysiological movement patterns.  Deviations thereof disturb the necessary coordinated interactions of movement. Dyskinesia of the muscles and muscle groups would develop.
  • Necessity of individual customization of movement: i.e. leg and arm length adjustments, pelvic-stress angles, joint-socket lengths, seat and standing heigths and foot angles.


BackSummary

PhilPaso Therapie

Bewegungsführung, Kraft, komplexe Bewegungsmuster

PhilPaso - Training der Superlative

Training der Superlative für Jung und Alt

Training der Superlative für den ganzen Körper mit adaptiver Bewegungsführung: Antrieb durch eigene Kraft oder elektronische Motorsteuerung

PhilPaso wurde auf der Grundlage des Patentes Nr. 196030315 von Dr. Klaus und Sabine Berndsen entwickelt. Das Patent beinhaltet ein angelenktes Pedalsystem zum Trainieren der Geh-, Lauf-, Fußabrollbewegung.

  • Leistungssport und Breitensport
  • Rehabilitation nach Erkrankungen, Verletzungen und Operationen
  • Fehlstellungen und/oder Fehlbewegungen von Füßen, Beinen, Hüften, Armen
  • Störungen der Balance und/oder der Bewegungskoordination
  • Angeborenen und erworbenen Behinderungen
  • Geführte Bewegung zur Entwicklung korrekter, gehirnkoordinierter und automatisierter Ganzkörperbewegungen (neurophysiologische Bewegungsmuster)
  • Weiche Bewegungsabläufe ohne ruckartige Druckbelastung der Gelenke
  • Einstellung des Hüftbelastungswinkels – bis zur Überkorrektur möglich
  • Führung der Fußabrollbewegung
  • Training gegengleicher Bewegungen (cross movement): Beine – Arme / Schultergürtel – Hüfte
  • Anpassung der Beinlänge, des Beinhubes (Kniehöhe des Spielbeines), der Schrittlänge, der Armstreckung und des Armwinkels, variable gelenkschonende Ellipsenbewegungseinstellung
  • Sitz- und Stehtraining variierbar
  • Drehbarer Sitz als Einstiegshilfe und Sitzgurtsicherung
  • Antrieb durch eigene Kraft oder Motorsteuerung
  • Stabiles anpassbares Gerät für den professionellen Einsatz: Ein Gerät für alle Größen

PhilPaso

pb-01-wDer Name PhilPaso ist eine Wortschöpfung und bedeutet der Weg (el paso) des Philipps. Philipp ist der Sohn von Dr. Klaus und Sabine Berndsen. Er wurde 1991 mit einer Cerebralparese geboren und konnte, so die „Expertenmeinungen“, niemals das Laufen erlernen. Der Junge nahm über mehrere Jahre ausdauernd aber erfolglos an zahlreichen Behandlungen in Deutschland und anderen Ländern der Welt teil. Um der Resignation nicht statt zu geben, begannen seine Eltern mit der Entwicklung spezieller Trainingsgeräte zum Erwerb komplexer Laufbewegungen und patentierten deren Mechanismen. Nach intensivem Gerätetraining gelangen Philipp, im Alter von 9 Jahren, seine ersten selbständigen Schritte. Auf der Basis ihrer Erfahrungen und der patentierten Geräte entstand allmählich ihr bestes Trainingsgerät. Sie nannten es PhilPaso, weil das Gerät ihrem Sohn Philipp den Weg zum Erlernen des Laufens ebnete. Zahlreiche andere Patienten konnten zwischenzeitlich von dieser Methode profitieren. Auf Grund der sehr hohen Entwicklungskosten gelang es erst jetzt ein stabiles Gerät für den professionellen Gebrauch zu entwickeln, das ohne ständige technische Korrekturen, eingesetzt werden kann.

Besondere Eigenschaften des PhilPaso-Trainings

PhilPaso Training erweitert die Bewegungsführung der unteren Extremitäten durch die damit koordinierte interaktive Oberkörperbewegung: Hüfte, Schultergürtel, Arme, Hände, Kopf. Durch hohe Wiederholungsfrequenzen bei gleichzeitig geführten und koordinierten Bewegungsabläufen sollen optimierte habituelle Bewegungsmuster trainiert werden.

Neurophysiologische Grundlagen

Dr. Berndsen/Berndsen definieren für ihre Trainingsmethode wichtige gehirnkoordinierte körperfunktionelle Grundlagen:

  • Das Gehirn kennt keine einzelnen Muskeln, sondern steuert komplexe Bewegungsmuster. Diese können nur dann erworben oder wieder erworben werden, wenn das Training (die Therapie) die weit reichende interaktive Komplexität der Bewegungsabläufe berücksichtigt: Bewegungskoordination „vom Kopf bis zu den Zehen“ (Beispiel Gehbewegung)
  • Isoliertes Üben von Teilbewegungen stört den Aufbau neurophysiologischer Bewegungsmuster und führt zu sekundären Schädigungen (Läsionen).
  • Bewegungen sind so zu führen, dass sie möglichst weit an das korrekte Bewegungsmuster herangeführt werden (Controlled Movement): Falschbewegungen und Fehlbelastungen dürfen nicht zugelassen werden.
  • Neurophysiologische Bewegungsmuster entwickeln sich durch die Präzision der Durchführung und eine hohe Wiederholungsfrequenz identischer Übungen. Dies ist manuell nicht möglich und bedarf spezieller Trainingsgeräte: PhilPaso
  • Läsionen bedingen Kompensationsbewegungen. Diese müssen, angepasst an den Regenerationsprozess, so schnell wie möglich aufgelöst werden.
  • Notwendigkeit des entwicklungsorientierten Trainings: Sind bereits höher entwickelte kortikale Funktionen entwickelt und können komplexe neurophysiologische Muster bereits realisiert werden, sollten Übungen zur Aufarbeitung von Entwicklungsvorstufen unterbleiben. Sie stören die Koordinationsmuster und bewirken motorische Irritationen.
  • Orientierung an neurophysiologischen Bewegungsmustern. Abweichungen davon stören die notwendigen koordinativen Interaktionen der Bewegung. Es kommt zu Dyskinesien von Muskeln bzw. Muskelgruppen.
  • Notwendigkeit der individuellen Bewegungsanpassungen:
    z.B. Bein-, Armlängenverstellung, Hüftgelenksbelastungswinkel, Hublängen, Sitz- und Stehhöhen, Fußwinkel


ZurückÜbersicht